War Zone

***This was written on August 2, 2012***

“BOOM! BAM! POW!” I wake up to the clamorous sound.
Wait a minute…where am I? What’s this place I see when I look around?
A few hours ago I fell asleep in the night’s calmness and ease.
Now I wake upon this violent field, filled with questions and worries.

How did I get here? What the crud is going on?
Teams are fighting on both sides; tell me I won’t be here long!
I don’t feel like being here in the middle of this war zone.
I have no idea what this is about – can I just go back home?

Who’s that man with the pure white clothes over there, fighting by that tree?
Oh, no, he saw me! He’s ducking and crawling to get over to me…
“Benjamin,” he says, “keep your body close to the dirt.
“With all of this shooting, you don’t want to get hurt.”

“Hold on,” I interrupt. “Who are you, and how did I get here?”
“I am your arch angel—” “Didn’t you forget to say ‘have no fear?’”
I could tell by his facial expression he didn’t appreciate what I had said.
He remained calm, however. He pulled out a pouch and gave me a piece of bread.

“We’re fighting a war,” he shares. I respond with, “Yeah, I’ve gathered that.
“But why am I in the middle of it, worrying about bullets covering my back?
“Could you take me to a safe shelter?” The bread’s still in my mouth, and I continue to chew.
“No, I can’t,” the arch angel replies. “You see, we’re fighting over you.”

I nearly choke as the bread falls harshly down my throat.
“But, why?” I panically ask. “I’m of no importance here, I hope!”
“The southern team,” my angel explains, “the ones wearing red,
“They’re the ones who will stop at nothing to have you dead.

“Satan’s their commander, and he’s coming after you.
“Avoid him at all costs, whatever you do!”
“The army behind us,” I pose, “is on God’s side?”
“Yes.” “So, then, can I come rest under you all and hide?”

“Yes you can,” my angel replies, “but we must move quick!”
As we begin moving, I hear from behind me what sounds like a stick.
We turn around to find a man, under his foot was the dead branch,
From the southern army. “Pardon me. Just let me speak – give me a chance.”

Though his eyes were enigmatic, his voice was transquil.
I wanted to hear, though I knew it may hurt like a shrill.
Although my mind told me to leave, my body told me to stay.
“Alright,” I say to this demon. “What do you have to say?”

He clears his throat and stands straight up.
“I’ll try to be quick,” he says. “Neither of us has time to waste.
“This man beside you spoke about us out of term.
“I just wanted to clear up the things you may have heard.

“You’ve got us all wrong. See, we’re not here to destroy.
“The truth is we’re all here because we care about you, boy.”
“Care?” I inquired. “You all don’t give a crud about me!”
The demon replies, “Oh yes we do, more than you believe!

“Though you don’t want to admit it, you’ve been worrying your future life.
“You’re unsure of yourself, creating an internal strife.
“You try to live holy and do the right thing everyday,
“But you don’t understand what you read in the Bible, and you don’t believe what you pray.

“I know that living this life doesn’t come easy, or come with an instruction guide.
“So I’m proposing that you come stand by my side.
“Let me help you and teach you how to handle your difficulties.
“Take my hand and join me. I’ll give you everything you need.

“What do you have to offer?” I pose, wanting to know.
“If you’ll allow me,” he answers, “I’ll provide a remedy to your woe.
“People think we mean to bring harm, but they don’t realize
“We set folks free from the stress in their lives.

“Take you, for example: the man who wants to do everything right.
“Just the mere thought of failing sends you quivers of fright.
“You thought you had your life together, until one day
“You felt lonely, afraid, ungodly, and you asked, ‘How did I get this way?’”

“If you’re not constantly working for your future success,
“You feel discouraged, like you’re not giving God your best.
“You hate failing in school, work, failing God – failing anything
“Because you can’t bear the feelings that failure brings.

“You want to live right for God – do what is pleasing to Him.
“You can’t fail God, so you try to avoid sin.
“At the same time, however, how can you fight against your humanity?
“No matter how good of a person you are, perfect you can never be.”

It’s amazing – he described exactly how I felt.
My eyes produced a waterfall, and my heart was about to melt.
“If you’ll allow me,” he continues, “please let me
“Provide you my special remedy.

“You cause yourself such worries and great stress.
“Come play a game of mine. I call it ‘Forget the Rest.’
“Focus on what you want, and forget everything else.
“Take a break from this lifestyle, and focus on yourself.

“This life of constant, non-stop excellence isn’t doing you any favors!
“Admit it, the only thing it’s doing is causing you pain like a sharp razor.
“What’s the point of continuing in this life that may or may not lead anywhere?
“God won’t mind. So long as you stay a Christian, what does He care?

“I know you’re tired of the stress, that’s why I’m here for you.
“Follow me to my side if you don’t know what to do.
“I can give you peace, I’ll take your stress, and I’ll provide you a new home.
“Come on over to my side if you want out of this war zone.”

He’s extending his hand, inviting me to give him mine.
I almost don’t want to join him – I feel like it’s some sort of crime.
But what can I do? He’s right! I’m so sick of this struggle.
I’m about to say yes with everything I have in my soul.

“OK, stop!” my angel speaks. “We’ve heard your words.
“You made your point, but now it’s my turn.”
He shifts his countenance towards me, staring deep into my spirit.
“Benjamin, I have a message for you, and I need you to hear it.

“Don’t be deceived by this demon – you know he is a liar!
“If you take heed to his advice, it’ll lead you down to the Lake of Fire.
“God will free you from any struggle, but Satan will keep you bound.
“The Lord has never failed you; do you think He’d start now?

“Even more so than failing others, your true fear is failing yourself.
“If you can’t meet your own standards, how can you please anyone else?
“But in putting so much emphasis on walking in the godly direction,
“You attempted to accomplish something you’ll never reach: perfection.

“God sees you trying to live right, and it puts a smile on His Face;
“But you can’t be perfect. Why, then, would you need His Grace?
“He knows you’ll make mistakes, and He is willing to forgive.
“Learn from your faults, and move on in this life you live.”

“But it’s not that easy,” I declare! “I get more tired everyday.
“Really, what’s the point in living this life if I may not have the things for which I pray?”
My angel answer, “Do you think God doesn’t hear you, or that He’s stoppable?
“Living for God doesn’t mean life will come easy, but that that all things are possible.

“God sees you, Benjamin, and He also sees where you’re going to be,
“I know it’s hard putting your trust in something you cannot see,
“But despite how you may feel, God does have a plan for your life.
“You’ll understand and appreciate all you went through – the pain, the hurt, the strife.

“If you go with this deceiver, he’ll only pull you farther and farther from God.
“Don’t put your trust in him, he’s not at all what he seems. He is a fraud.
“Keep walking in God. He’ll give you all the strength and power you need.
“Apply His Word to your life, don’t ever doubt Him, and you will indeed succeed.

“God has put a great gift and light deeply inside of you.
“If you praise Him and trust Him, there is nothing you can’t do.
“You’ll be the man you want to be. You’ll be where you want to be thanks to God who’s made your heart His home.
“The decision is yours. Choose wisely, and get out of this war zone.”

So now the ball’s in my court. What am I going to decide?
On one hand, I feel the stress and bitter hurt building up on the inside.
Yet, on the other hand, I know God is good and fair.
I ponder on this as bullets and explosions fly harsher in the air.

I have a choice to make, my mind frantically races.
As I think, the harsh war continues – blood splattering on faces.
It’s so hard – I wish I could do both. Which do I go with between these two?
Somebody help me! What do I do?!

Do I keep walking by faith, or turn and walk by sight?
Maybe I should stay with it, but this lifestyle fives me a great fright.
I can’t…Wait…Do I even remember who I am?
I contemplate on it and answer, “I’m a child in my Father’s Hand.”

I am God’s son…No, I’m not His only Begotten,
I’m just one of the many that He has adopted.
He knows me, He sees me, He watches out for me.
That means…there’s nothing in life that requires me to worry!

There isn’t a person or a thing that can stand before me because God is on my side.
He didn’t offer me this power so that He could take it back and try to hide;
No, He’s with me all the way. I will not be abandoned by my King!
Because He gives strength, I can do anything and everything!

How could I have forgotten God’s great power and Grace?
He won’t leave me now, in the middle of this race.
In Jesus’ Name I will overcome these obstacles I face.
He’ll bless and lead me higher, guiding me to a better place.

I will keep working to keep my faith alive.
I’m not sleeping on my talent, I won’t let my dream die.
“You know it won’t be easy,” the demon attempts to persuade.
“No,” I respond, “nor will it be impossible because God’s Power doesn’t fade.”

I look into the demon’s eyes and say, “I’m not going anywhere with you.
“I’m going to a place where Joy lasts forever and living thankfully is what I do.
“In Jesus’ Name, I command you to crawl back to Hell, back to your home.
“Death of my spirit and soul is not an option. I’m getting out of this war zone!”

The sly demon and his fellow men trembled and immediately vacated.
The war is over, and I now feel liberated.
My angel embraces me. He says, “You made the right choice!”
The northern army set their weapons aside and make sounds of rejoice.

Less than a moment later, I wake up in my bed. I hear the wind through the trees.
The images and result of the war runs through my mind, and I feel great Peace.
I leap out of my bed, fall to my knees, and I praise the Lord
Because I remember Who won – I know the score!

I pray, “Thank You! Hallelujah, Jesus! I’ll go anywhere with You!
“I’ll go where You want me to go, I’ll do what You want me to do.
“I trust You with my everything; You brought me safely home.
“Thank You, Jesus, for having the victory, and bringing me out of the war zone!
“Amen!”

(c) August 2012, B.I.B. Productions
(P) BOOYIKA!, Inc.

Leave a comment